The Sheep of Kephas

Home » Uncategorized » Catholic Cultural Revolution #1: Retrograde Child of the 60’s

Catholic Cultural Revolution #1: Retrograde Child of the 60’s

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

This is the first in a series of posts where I will describe aspects of the Catholic Cultural Revolution using quotations directly from our Pastor. (Shall we put them in a “little book”?) These are my personal views. If these posts put a knot in your knickers, then take it up with me. Char

Child of the 60’s: I was a child of the 60’s. I was rebellious. I renounced authority. I wore the clothes. I listened to the music. I was a part of the culture wars. I did not want what preceding generations offered. I was a heathen and I was “woman”.

That is what I was, but am that no longer – I grew up. And, more importantly, I found my way to the Catholic Church.

Slowly, however, I am finding that some children of the 60’s never grew up and many are our spiritual shepherds.

For example, in the view of my Pastor, some of his brother priests are “retrograde” and I, a member of the laity, am “living in another world”.

How do I know what my Pastor thinks? Well, pull up your knickers, sit down, and read his words. These are the thoughts of our great and fearless Pastor:

Topic: Brother Priests

“Bishop Loverde told me he had received some letters from people who did not want to have young women serve with young men on the altar,” Grinnell wrote in the church bulletin. “I assumed that these letters could only have come from some of the retrograde clergy of the Arlington diocese (who seem to be permanently ‘out to sea’ on this issue).

Priest Who Allowed Altar Girls Is Told to Stop – The Washington Post,  July 16, 1999

Friends, and those who have already developed knots, this quote tell us that Father thinks that some of his fellow priests are “retrograde”. Not only are they “backward”, they are “out to sea” whenever they think something contrary to whatever view Father might hold. And, he is willing to call them “retrograde” in a Sunday bulletin where a newspaper with a national readership can find his words.

Oh my goodness, how very “progressive” of him?

Topic: The Laity

“I was quite surprised, therefore, when the Bishop told me that he had also received some letters from lay people,” Grinnell added. “I understand that some of my brothers are living in another world.”

Priest Who Allowed Altar Girls Is Told to Stop – The Washington Post,  July 16, 1999

 

Oh, how very out of character! Father normally says “my sisters and brothers”. Whatever. My Pastor finds it hard to believe that the laity could ever follow the retrograde/backward, reactionary thinking of “some of the retrograde clergy of the Arlington diocese”. But I do agree with those priests. Their teaching is consistent, logical, and it just makes darn good sense.

Our Pastor's HandSo my Pastor has pegged me well. I don’t live in his world. Nor will I ever. I am Catholic. I am not progressive, nor do I agree with one d- -n thing that is being promoted by the Association of US Catholic Priests (AUSCP), nor with any of its members – including my Pastor.

So, there it is. In the mind of my Pastor, my hubby, my children, and my grandchildren would all be living in a different world. Perhaps, he sees me, my hubby, and my cat like the folks in this picture to the left. Welcome to the Catholic Twilight Zone.

Catholic Cultural Revolution: Dear readers, you can now un-knot your knickers, I’m almost done. You and I both know that there is a culture war being waged in the Catholic Church. But it is more than a war – it is a revolution. In many respects it resembles the Cultural Revolution launched by Chairman Mao in 1966. Our parish is already becoming a re-education center. (Think of Father Richard Rohr.)

Retrograde: If you are not familiar with the history of the terms “retrograde clergy” or “retrograde priests”, go do some research. It is a very derogatory term.

Standby! More to come – I have a lot to say. Rather, Father has a lot to say in his many public quotes. Whohoo!!

Now for some light entertainment for reflection, let’s go retrograde and listen to some music from my past.

 

Revolution

“You say you want a revolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world
You tell me that it’s evolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world”

But when you talk about destruction
Don’t you know that you can count me out
Don’t you know it’s gonna be
All right, all right, all right

But if you go carrying pictures of chairman Mao
You ain’t going to make it with anyone anyhow
Don’t you know it’s gonna be
All right, all right, all right
All right, all right, all right
All right, all right, all right
All right, all right

Leave a Reply

