The Sheep of Kephas

Home » Uncategorized » The Communion of Saints

The Communion of Saints

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Say a Rosary – it is there.

Say the Divine Mercy Chaplet – it is there.

For the average Catholic at St. Peter’s or at St. John the Baptist – it is there, every day.

“I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body and life everlasting.”

There it is.

Perhaps we don’t think about it often. Perhaps we don’t think about it enough. I have friends; you have friends; we have friends whom we’ve never met. Yet, they care for us and they pray for us. Some are living in this world and some are living elsewhere – still, they care for us and they pray for us.

Today, I attended a Requiem Mass for a person, a wonderful person, whom I’ve never met. But, I’ve known members of her family for many years. And for months now I’ve been praying for her. As members of the Communion of Saints we are bound together – forever.

No the Catholic Church is not small – in the Communion of Saints, defying time and mortality, the Catholic Church is very large, indeed.

So, as Fr. Fasano reminded us of our relationship to each other through the Communion Saints I looked upon the immense gathering of people. The had come out of their common love and respect for Malia Wells. Through Father’s words, the tears shed by her family, and the reception of Holy Communion, I came to realize that Life comes to fullness when we leave this world.

I found myself saying I can be happy with the thought that “In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places ..” and we are all meant “to be happy with Him for ever in heaven.” I’m ready, Lord. I long to be with you. But, if it is not your will, Lord, remind me to pray for those who need my prayers. I will wait a little while longer.

With the example of Malia Wells and her battle with illness and her resignation to God’s Will, I can say the Rosary – because it is there. I can say the Divine Mercy Chaplet – because it is there. I can be reminded by Lent and by Easter that we are members of the Communion of Saints. I can be reminded of the forgiveness of sins. I can be reminded of the resurrection of the body and life everlasting.

And, I can be reminded to pray for Malia Wells and be assured that she will pray for me, because there truly is a Communion of Saints. Amen!

Char

 

1 Comment

  1. Larry and I were there as well. Sorry we missed you. What an inspiration that crowd at the church was.

    Like

Leave a Reply

