The Sheep of Kephas

Home » General Information » For the Sheep in Exile – Bulletin 2017-03-26

For the Sheep in Exile – Bulletin 2017-03-26

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Here is Bulletin_2017-03-26

A Visit to Remember: Friday was a special day for me for several reasons. It was made even more special because I was able to attend Mass at St. John the Baptist and pray the Holy Rosary in the presence of the International Pilgrim Virgin Statue of Our Lady of Fatima. My family, starting with my father, whose name was Francis, who was Portuguese, and who was roughly the same age as the three children of Fatima, has a long and inspiring relationship with Our Lady of Fatima. We pray the Rosary and we have been blessed with many graces because we do.

Owing to my respect for those who came to venerate, my picture was taken at a poor angle. But I think you can get some idea of what Friday morning was like. It has been 100 years since Our Lady came with her message of prayer and penance. Friday morning that message was renewed for me and many, many others. Our Lady of Fatima, pray for us!

 

Where was our Pastor? Okay, it’s happened again. We go to Mass at St. Peter’s and, without any advance notice, some other priest is there in his place. This weekend, it was U.S. Navy Chaplain Father Daniel Mode. It was a wonderful Mass and the homily was on point and inspiring.

Nevertheless, we must still consider the question – Where was our Pastor?

After the 8:30 AM Mass, a faithful and supportive reader of this blog asked me directly – “Where is our Pastor?”

I answered rhetorically, “Do I look like I have the Pastor watch?”

Our reader looked at me strangely in a way that said: “Well, you do, don’t you?”

I responded to her look with, “Your right, I guess I do. I’ve failed again, forgive me.”

So, dear faithful reader, I have done my homework, albeit belatedly. Though I cannot be 100% certain, it would appear that our Pastor was at the 149th Women’s Cursillo Weekend which was to be held Thursday March 23 – Sunday March 26, 2017 at Missionhurst | 4641 25th St N | Arlington, VA 22207.

Now, on behalf of my dear wife, and many Sheep in Exile, it would certainly be helpful if St. Peter Catholic Church, in its bulletin and on its website, were to provide us and all of the people in the parish notice when our Pastor is and is not going to be at the parish. There are very few times during the year when my wife and I can attend Mass together in our own parish. Providing advance notice of Father’s presence and absence would be an exceptionally helpful courtesy.

So, from my wife, here is an encore concerning where our Pastor might be: “somewhere out there“.

And even though I know how very far apart we are
It helps to think we might be wishin’ on the same bright star
And when the night wind starts to sing a lonesome lullaby
It helps to think we’re sleeping underneath the same big sky

 

2 Comments

  1. BK says:

    I was able to make a pilgrimage as part of my normal Thursday commute to a weekday morning Mass at St. John the Evangelist. Rosary, Mass, almost an hour with the Pilgrim Statue, and then Benediction. It was a glorious morning!

    Like

  2. Fleeb says:

    Here is a good synopsis of what is happening at St Peter:
    http://www.churchmilitant.com/video/episode/vortex-democratic-party-parishes

    Like

Leave a Reply

