The Sheep of Kephas

Home » Uncategorized » Our Catholic and Civic Responsibility

Our Catholic and Civic Responsibility

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

On August 25th, 1966, I raised my right hand and stated:

“I, (state name of enlistee), do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.”

My oath was to “support and defend the Constitution of the United states”. After 21 years of active duty and 29 years of retired time, I carry an ID card that shows my rank as SCPO (retired) and I still hold myself responsible to that oath I took in 1966. I also hold myself to the promises made for me at my Baptism in 1949 and which I reaffirm every time I say the Apostles or Nicene Creed. In fact, I hold those far above my enlistment oath. —- What if a President of the United States were an enemy of the Constitution and opposed to my freedom to practice my Catholic faith?

We are in danger of losing our freedom of religion and the First Amendment to the Constitution I swore to defend is already being trampled. I will honor my oath of enlistment and my responsibility as a Roman Catholic until the day I die.

This evening at St. John the Baptist, there was a flyer in the bulletin. It was the two-page voters guide for the presidential election entitled “Know the Positions of the Presidential Candidates“. Please click on the title and read what the Virginia Catholic Council provides as the positions of the two Presidential Candidates.

As an important aside, please ask your representative on the Parish Pastoral Council to request our Pastor to have the same flyer inserted into the St. Peter’s bulletin prior to the election – sooner rather than later.

1 Comment

  1. Fenton says:

    I’m surprised Huck hasn’t had his buddy Timmy Kaine team up with Mimi to give a lecture on the evil of being an “Institutional Catholic”…God help us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

