The Sheep of Kephas

Home » Uncategorized » Of Life, Amorrhites, and False gods

Of Life, Amorrhites, and False gods

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

IMG_20160122_071901664Dawn on January 22 signaled a warning. For my wife and me it was a warning on many levels. From my old Navy days it was “Red sky at morning, sailors take warning.” And that red dawn, in fact, signaled the coming of the Blizzard of 2016. It was at Mass at St. John the Baptist that we heard that their buses to the March for Life had been canceled. – Yet, they had scheduled buses, whereas St. Peter’s had not. The faithful and the believers in the Church’s teaching on life made their way to Mass and Communion. We prayed for those who would be at the March.

And who was at the March? There were thousands. One day earlier I had the chance to see them as they came in from all ends of the country. Nuns, high school students, families with young children, and many, many Catholic priests. As I made my way from Metro Center to the Renaissance Washington DC Downtown Hotel, bound for the the March for Life Conference and Convention, I saw them. And knowing what weather was coming, I prayed for them. They were the ones making a true sacrifice.

Entering the hotel lobby, I saw them by the hundreds. They were friends meeting old friends. They were friends meeting new friends. They were of one mind and one heart. They had made the journey. I watched them as I made my way to the exposition rooms downstairs. They were dedicated and with purpose.

At the bottom of the staiLife 1rs, I saw the signs, banners, and displays. So many, many organizations dedicated to building a culture of life. I have a family member who works for one of these groups. We met and had coffee together, discussing the March and the weather to come. Then, he had to get back to work and I took the Life 2opportunity to take pictures of some of the displays.

Will the Supreme Court decision of Roe v. Wade ever be over turned? I truly don’t know. Yet, my wife and I will continue to pray and sacrifice to that end. And that particular family member of ours will continue to help spread the message and, more importantly, to live the message in his own family life. He has chosen for himself and his house in the same my wife and I have chosen for ourselves and our house.

“But if it seem evil to you to serve the Lord, you have your choice: choose this day that which pleaseth you, whom you would rather serve, whether the gods which your fathers served in Mesopotamia, or the gods of the Amorrhites, in whose land you dwell: but as for me and my house we will serve the Lord.” (J0shua 24:15)

Our God is a god of Justice and our God is a God of Mercy. We are living in a time of Mercy; we are living in a Year of Mercy. One has to wonder will there some day be a red sky in the morning that will signal a Year of Justice? And should that day come, what will be in the hearts of those at St. Peter’s who were dismayed when no bus had been scheduled to the March? And should that day come, what will be in the heart of the shepherd of St. Peter’s who had no time to schedule a bus to the March?

 

 

Leave a Reply

