The Sheep of Kephas

Home » General Information » For the Sheep in Exile – 2015-10-11

For the Sheep in Exile – 2015-10-11

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Here is Bulletin_2015-10-11.

Double Elimination Cornhole Tourney: There is a deeply entrenched fear in my heart. It haunts me in my dreams. It causes me to think that in some way I am becoming Fre3d Capra. —– Has my mind so atrophied, has it become so besotted with worldly concerns that the only item I can find of interest in St. Peter’s bulletin is a story about a “Double Elimination Cornhole Tourney” or “Bed, Bath and Beyond BINGO” at the Scrabble School Senior Center? —– As I enter into my Autumn years, is this what will be of greatest importance to Fre3d and me? That thought almost makes assisted suicide look attractive. (Please, don’t take that last statement seriously.)

As we write this, there is a Synod of Bishops underway in Rome. Go, read for yourself what is happening. Check out Church Militant, The Wanderer, LES FEMMES – THE TRUTH, or some of the other links on this site. Matters of great importance are being discussed and not one of them has made a reference to a “Double Elimination Cornhole Tourney” or “Bed, Bath and Beyond BINGO”. But, if you had gone to Mass this morning at St. John the Baptist, you would have heard about the Synod.

In some ways Rappahannock County is a microcosm of the world and a reflection of the discussions at the Synod. Consider this brief synopsis of a lengthy story in this week’s Rappahannock news:

Scouting units divide to address gay leadership issue

A group of Boy Scout and Cub Scout parents in the troop chartered these last 25 years by Washington’s Trinity Episcopal Church have applied to create a new scout troop affiliated with Reynolds Memorial Baptist Church in Sperryville. The reason: Disagreement with the Boy Scouts of America’s decision earlier this year to lift its long-standing blanket ban on scout leaders who are openly gay.

My father was a Scout. He actually met Sir Robert Baden-Powell. My father helped me to memorize the Scout Oath and to live it:

On my honor I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country
and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong,
mentally awake, and morally straight.

My son was a Cub Scout. He was the last of the line that started with my Dad. My grandsons will not be Boy Scouts. So, I guess along with Fre3d and me, all we have left is a “Double Elimination Cornhole Tourney” or “Bed, Bath and Beyond BINGO”.

Even if our Pastor does not mention the Synod or ask for prayers for orthodox outcomes, you, the good and faithful parishioners of St. Peter’s, even if you are in exile, I know you will pray that God’s Will will carry the day at the Synod. Meanwhile, “I will do my best to do my duty to God …”

1 Comment

  1. I’m glad to see you aren’t losing your sense of humor. No matter how silly, misguided, or evil the clergy get, God is still God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

