The Sheep of Kephas

Home » Sheep in Exile » For the Sheep in Exile – Bulletin 2015-05-17

For the Sheep in Exile – Bulletin 2015-05-17

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Here is Bulletin_2015-05-17.

Read the bulletin closely. Read it four or five times like my wife and I did.

What did you find?

Was there a glaring omission?

If you haven’t found it, try the first page.

Have you found it yet?

Well, here’s a clue. In fact, here’s the answer.

Sunday, May 17, 2015
7th Sunday of Easter

According to the USCCB, May 17, 2015 is officially – the Solemnity of the Ascension of the Lord. It is a SOLEMNITY!!!! It is important!!!! Reading our bulletin you would never know. But, now comes the hard part – trying to get the most out of the Solemnity of the Ascension of the Lord while attending the 5:00 PM Mass at St. Peter’s. Words were said (not always the right words, mind you), motions were made, and a homily was delivered. Yet, somehow, nothing really happened. It was devoid of the very same thing that was absent from the bulletin – it was devoid of solemnity.

I was a child of the 50’s and 60’s and I can recall how society and the Church began to turn on itself back then. We had songs with lyrics that expressed our discontent. Well, I am no longer a child, I am an adult Catholic of the 2010’s and I have seen what has happened to the Church because it turned on itself when I was young. So, when I think of this evening’s Mass at St. Peter’s, there is a recollection of these lyrics from a song by the Monkees:

Another Pleasant Valley Sunday
Charcoal burning everywhere
Rows of houses that are all the same
And no one seems to care

Creature comfort goals
They only numb my soul and make it hard for me to see
My thoughts all seem to stray, to places far away
I need a change of scenery

My wife and I continue to pray that Bishop Loverde will graciously grant us a change of scenery.

Leave a Reply

